The 12 Jyotirlinga’s are associated with the zodiac signs


A Jyotirlinga or Jyotirlingam, is a devotional representation of the Supreme God Shiva. Jyoti means ‘radiance’ and lingam means the ‘Image or Sign’ of Shiva.

Jyotir Lingam thus means the Radiant Sign of The Almighty Shiva.

There are twelve traditional Jyotirlinga shrines in India. The jyothirlinga shrines are Temples where Shiva appeared as a fiery column of light.

At all these sites, the primary image is lingam representing the beginning less and endless Stambha pillar, symbolizing the infinite nature of Shiva.

The twelve jyotirlinga’s are Somnath, Mallikarjuna, Mahakaleswar, Omkareshwar, Kedarnath, Bhimashankar, Viswanath, Triambakeshwar, Vaidyanath, Nageswar, Rameshwar and Grishneshwar.

Each of the 12 Jyotirlinga, is mapped to one raasi (zodiac sign) and maharshis have advocated that every person has a personal jyotirlinga.

A personal Jyotirlinga is directly connected to his Atma like an Ishta devata and worshipping it can help a person come out from his past birth sins.

One can work towards purifying himself and clearing the obstacles and blocks that come in way of success in every area of work and lead a happy life by worshipping his zodiac jyotirlinga.

The list below shows the 12 rashis and the associated form of Jyotirlinga

Aries (Mesh) : Rameshwaram
Taurus (Vrishabh) : Somnath
Gemini (Mithun) : Nageshwara
Cancer (Kark) : Omkareshwar
Leo (Sinha) : Vaidyanatha
Virgo (Kanya) : Mallikarjuna
Libra (Tula) : Mahakaleshwar
Scorpio (Vrishchik) : Dhooshaneshwara
Sagittarius (Dhanu) : Kashi Vishwanath
Capricorn (Makar) : Bhimashankara
Aquarius (Kumbh) : Kedarnath
Pisces (Meena) : Tryambakeshwara

However, along with zodiac some scholars suggest worshiping atma Jyotir Linga as per atmakaraka placement sign in Navamsa Chart too..

(Bhaskar Sharma)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here